YMCA of Greater Louisville

5 Reasons to Support the American Cancer Society study

Leave a comment

The American Cancer Society is launching a major new study, called the Cancer Prevention Study-3, in Kentucky this summer, and it arrives at time when I’ve been thinking a lot about breast cancer.
This past May 9, my younger sister Ellen celebrated 10 years free of breast cancer. Her frightening diagnosis, with the mastectomy and chemotherapy that followed, is now well behind her but I still remember the tearful early-morning phone call when she delivered her terrible news. I shared her pain over the next couple months – and then my world caved in when I received the same diagnosis and entered her world of biopsies, mastectomies, reconstruction and chemotherapy. In October I will celebrate my 10th anniversary being cancer free.

Nina in center with her two sisters who have survived breast cancer

You probably figured out by now that breast cancer runs in my family. My mother succumbed to breast and then liver cancer 20 years ago. My older sister was diagnosed with very serious Stage 3 breast cancer and survived with flying colors – She’s alive and well 15 years later. It appears our family crisis is behind us. But my sisters and I see our five beautiful young daughters and wonder what’s ahead for them. They are my 5 reasons for supporting the ACS study.
And so I jumped in when the American Cancer Society came to the YMCA of Greater Louisville and asked for help with the Cancer Prevention Study or CPS-3. This is something real and meaningful I can do to help find a cure for cancer – and so can you.
If you have not had cancer and are between the ages of 30 and 65, you can sign up for the new study. It’s easy to go on-line and make an appointment at any one of several sites between Aug. 7 and 11. The appointment only takes about 30 minutes and then every 2 or 3 years you will fill out a survey that will help researchers better understand the lifestyle, environmental and genetic factors that cause or prevent cancer. You can help save lives!
Think of someone you love who has had cancer and do this for them. PLEASE go to CPS3kentucky.org and sign up right now!

Leave a Reply

