YMCA of Greater Louisville

Sandy’s Weight Loss Journey with the Y

8 Comments

Sandy Campbell has been a member and participant in the YMCA Weight Loss Program at the Oldham County Family YMCA since January, 2012. She has seen great success through this program, and has Imagegraciously shared her views on the program, her success, and her overall attitude with us.

Sandy, how has your life changed since beginning the YMCA Weight Loss Program?

I’ve been on every diet in the world and I was mislead on how to lose weight. The difference that I have seen since January in my life is night and day. I have figured out what hungry means and my body is now in charge of telling me what I need.

When losing weight in the past, what led to gaining the weight back?

Once I had reached my goal, I thought I was done. I went back to eating more, back to the TV, and back to eating while watching TV. I didn’t really think or know much about maintenance.

What is one of the main health improvements you have seen?

I was actually told by my physician at one point that I was a Type 2 Diabetic, but my last fasting glucose was 78 and my Hemoglobin A1C  was 5.1%.

How do you keep yourself motivated?

I always have a goal in mind. My next goal is to eliminate artificial sweeteners. Also, I am not a water lover, so I am still working on that. I will never give up my creamer, though. 🙂

What part of this program makes it work for you? Image

I have learned to set goals that I can reach. This program’s focus on goal setting and counting fat grams is great. I was taught about the macronutrients: carbohydrates, protein, and fat. I have now found the perfect formula for me!

What would you tell someone who was thinking about joining the YMCA Weight Loss Program?

If you want back your youth, you’ve got to get yourself back. The person inside has a lot of self worth, you have to get back that self worth to compete in this world. You’ve got to want it. You’ve got to want it bad.

Any last words of wisdom?

My lifestyle has changed and I will never go back. I am throwing out my fat clothes. I stopped listening to what I wanted and started listening to what I needed.

8 thoughts on “Sandy’s Weight Loss Journey with the Y

  1. Pingback: Sandy's Weight Loss Journey with the Y | YMCA of Greater Louisville | Lose Weight Fort Lauderdale

  2. Way to go, Sandy!

  3. Wow! Awesome job, Sandy!!!

  4. Way to go cuz. Looking good.

  5. Looking good cuz!!! Hopefully I’m right behind you, going to take a lot for me though….lol

  6. Mom, I love what you have done with your weight loss. I love that you wanted it so bad this time. I love you for wanting to be around to watch your grandkids grow up! Thank you!

  7. YMCA rocks! Congrats with your achievement, Sandy! I am still researching for for an alternative to surgery; still researching on this Roca Labs that I found in youtube… Can’t do surgery, costly and so complicated, some people even die within 30 days after operation, basing on research.

    • You need to learn a lifestyle change so you can get the weight off and keep it off.. Surgery is NOT the answer… Try myfitnesspal.com for a tracking methold. Learn to find how many calories you need, carbs, proteins, and fat you need. Take the numbers down until you start loosing weight. Go to the YMCA weight classes and they will teach you everything you need to make that lifestyle change. I use Vitabot.com and love, love, love it.. You can get that program by joining the YMCA weight class… I did it and so can you…

Leave a Reply

