YMCA of Greater Louisville

Dear Today…

Leave a comment

I’m an avid blog reader. In fact, I have about 20(ish) blogs that I try to read on a daily basis. Blog reading serves as a lunch-time getaway, an end-of-the-day de-stressor, but to be quite frank, I read blogs because I like to live vicariously through other people’s drama. Truth. Sure, I can get my drama fix through The Bachelor/ette but  those new seasons don’t come around every day, you know. Today I’m taking inspiration from a friend’s blog and writing short letters to life…

Dear Wednesday,

My attention span is about thisssss long today. Yep, that’s all you get.

Dear to-do list,

Trim it up a little bit, buddy. Either that or figure out some way to make your tasks more appealing.

Dear Derby,

Thanks for the sunburn (which is slowly turning to a tan, I’m insistent). Oh, and the awesome people-watching. However, to the lady sitting on my right with the awful, glitzy, policeman-looking hat… I took a picture of you and sent it to my friends as an example of a truly unfortunate looking hairpiece. Sorry about that.

Dear $11 Mint Julep at the Derby,

Really?!?!

Dear workout motivation,

Um, hellooooo? You’ve got some explaining to do. Where have you traveled off to now? Figure out some way to teleport back… and quick. It’s swimsuit season. Please and thanks.

Dear 85-degree weather,

It’s not you, it’s me. I’m just not a fan. I’m getting used to you but my Monday afternoon outside run? Killer. I know you’re inevitable and that you’re only going to get hotter but give a girl a break. That sweat all over/on my face – not cute. I guess you’re made a little more bareable when Target preps me for you with cute shorts on sale for $15.

And on a bit more of a serious note…

Image

Dear everyone reading this post,

This week is National Childcare Provider’s Appreciation Week, as well as Teacher Appreciation Week. Take a minute and thank your kids’ babysitter, thank their teacher, thank your Mom who watches your kids on the weekend, thank the bus driver who brings your kids home safely every afternoon, thank the principal at your child’s school, and thank these people even if you don’t have kids of your own.  Kids are pretty awesome people but they need a little guidance, a little love, and a little nurturing. All of the people listed above give kids a place where they can be just that – kids, so be sure to say thanks!

Leave a Reply

