YMCA of Greater Louisville

Me, a Cycling Instructor? Are You Kidding??

Leave a comment

Whew, what a January it’s been here at the Bullitt County YMCA!  We’ve been having a blast helping all our members on the road to optimal health and well-being.  As anyone who has stepped into a Y can attest to, January is the craziest month of the year.  Imagine what you see in the hour or so you visit us and times that by 8-10.  This is what staff see each day.  So I thought, what better time to add a little more responsibility to my overflowing plate!

Back in November, our Group Exercise Coordinator, Beth Hall, approached me about learning to teach a group exercise class.  After I got off the floor from laughing hysterically, I realized she was serious.  Being that I have no rhythm, I wondered aloud how this was going to work.  Beth already had something in mind for me; beginner cycling.  While my first impulse was to say “no way and as your boss, you can’t make me”, I gave it a little thought.  I’ve ridden a bike before, so why couldn’t I do this?   Besides, lessen a little of her burden for filling classes with instructors would be a good thing to do.  Hesitantly, I agreed to her experiment.

After a few trial runs to minimal crowds in December, including a few in which I had no participants (talk about a shot to the ego), I’m now a Cycling Instructor!  For the first month, I’ve enjoyed the experience much more than I would have ever imagined.  Many times in life, we’re presented with challenges and opportunities in which our instincts tell us to flee.  However, those are the things we should try to embrace.  Maybe it’s something that won’t stick with you for the long haul, but you’ll always from the experience, not to mention grow from it.  We see people at the Y everyday who aren’t comfortable in a gym, but they’re here giving it their all.  We should all take such an approach in life.  Try it and you’ll see!

Leave a Reply

