YMCA of Greater Louisville

The Last Laugh

Leave a comment

If you’re like me, you started the New Year with a few extra pounds from all the holiday goodies.  Like I did, you may have vowed to start fresh on January 1st!  Get back to basics; eat healthier, exercise more, limit sugar…whatever.  You too probably thought the pounds picked up through the holidays (and even before that) would start coming right off.  Am I right?

If you are like me, those pounds are proving to be more stubborn than anticipated and have not started falling away as predicted. How frustrating is that!?!  You count calories, eat fruit and vegetables, exercise…do everything the “experts” tell you do and still nothing!  Or very little. Less than you expected anyway.

I have fairly realistic expectation. I didn’t imagine I would be ready for bathing suit season by Valentine’s Day, but I thought the weight would gradually start to come back off.  It doesn’t seem to be working out that way.  I can almost hear the scale taunting me from the corner of my bathroom, “Come on, you know you want to check.”  I do and I don’t.  Part of me really wants the work I have been doing to be reflected in it’s tiny little screen.  At the same time, I am not sure that I should care what it has to tell me.

Why?  Because regardless of what it has to say I know that I am doing the right things for my body.  I track what I eat so I know I am eating an appropriate amount of calories and getting the right balance of protein, carbs and fat.  I drink enough water.  I try to be sure most of what I eat is minimally processed and contains little in the way of refined sugar or artificial sweeteners. Each day, regardless of whether I feel like it or not, I get up off my duff and exercise.

I feel better, have more energy, sleep well and the people around me probably notice a generally better disposition.  If I stay the course and continue making healthy choices (most of the time) the weight will eventually come off.  Losing weight is hard!  Don’t let anybody tell you it isn’t.  There are no short cuts, just a daily commitment to yourself to be healthy, strong and confident.

The scale will still be there, taunting me. But I am certain I will get the last laugh!

Leave a Reply

