YMCA of Greater Louisville

Would You Like Some Milk With Your Sugar?

2 Comments

Newsflash: your mother was right. Eating breakfast really IS just that important.  In fact, we’ve been told that 20-25% of our calories for the entire day should be consumed within 30-40 minutes of rolling (or forcing yourself to roll) out from under those cozy covers. I love to eat, sounds like a party to me.

Oh, but wait. Eating breakfast is hard. Wait, scratch that. Rolling out of bed is hard. If I have to eat breakfast I have to set the alarm for 15 minutes earlier. Can someone invent something that can make my husband’s coffee, make my breakfast, pick out my clothing, pack my lunch (don’t forget to wash some grapes, please), pack my gym bag, oh, and give me a shower, all in, say, 10 minutes? That’d be great. Let me know when it’s available. I’ll be waiting right here.

My husband and I don’t have children yet, but I can only imagine this whole hectic morning scenario escalates with some little tots in toll. Enter: The Top 10 Most Sugary Cereals.

Did you know, there are at least 44 cereals that contain more sugar in one cup than three Chips Ahoy chocolate chip cookies? One cup of the top sugar-containing cereal, Honey Smacks, contains more sugar than a Hostess Twinkie. Holy morning sugar coma.

Without further ado (ranked by percent sugar by weight);

  1. Kellogg’s Honey Smacks (55.6%)
  2. Post Golden Crisp (51.9%)
  3. Kellogg’s Fruit Loops with Marshmallows (48.3%)
  4. Quaker Oats Cap’n Crunch’s Oops! All Berries (46.9%)
  5. Quaker Oats Cap’n Crunch Original (44.4%)
  6. Quaker Oats Oh!s (44.4%)
  7. Kellogg’s Smorz (43.3%)
  8.  Kellogg’s Apple Jacks (42.9%)
  9. Ouaker Oats Cap’n Crunch’s Crunch Berries (42.3%)
  10.  Kellogg’s Fruit Loops Original (41.4%)

So, what’s the dealio? Somehow reading a nutrition label and seeing that Honey Smacks has 20 grams (nearly five teaspoons) of sugar per serving doesn’t have the same impact as slapping a label on the box that reads “Warning: Equivalent to Eating a Twinkie.” Um. Gross. I’ll pass, thank you very little.

Oatmeal, anyone?

2 thoughts on “Would You Like Some Milk With Your Sugar?

  1. I’m a morning oatmeal eater (the kind with no sugar or flavors), not a cereal eater and thank goodness! I always knew certain cereal packed a punch of sugar, but they truly should be made to put a label “equivalent to eating a twinkie” on their label because so many people wouldn’t know to equate that just by reading the box. Great post!

  2. I was nervous about seeing any cereals I buy being on the list….but none were. Thankfully I have a near 4 year-old that asks for Wheaties w/ banana slices & I am fairly positive she would not know what to do if there was a bowl of sugar on the table like there was when I was a child.

Leave a Reply

